The Convention Industry Council (CIC) has announced several new members on its 2016 board of directors. Bonnie Fedchock, executive director of National Association for Catering and Events, is the new board chair. David Dubois, president and CEO of International Association of Events and Exhibitions has stepped down from the position.

Fedchock plans to continue facilitation of new programs and initiatives and build upon major strides achieved last year. “The Convention Industry Council continues to be a leader and driving force for the growth and enhancement of the global meetings industry,” she said.

“The exceptional programs at Convention Industry Council focus on research and education and provide standard setting training and certification. In the coming year, we will look to increase community engagement, as we continue to serve the many stakeholders that make up the important and diverse membership of our council.”

In addition to expanding its global membership, Convention Industry Council plans to continue advocating for economic and social values of the meetings industry through its participation in the Meetings Mean Business Coalition and supporting its own advocates who participate in the Meetings Industry Advocacy Hub.

The Convention Industry Council offers more than 30 member organizations representing more than 103,500 meeting professionals and 19,500 firms and properties within the meetings industry. CIC connects people, forms global partnerships, offers certification and accreditation programs and fosters collaboration on industry issues.

The following CIC members were elected to the 2016 Convention Industry Council Board of Directors:

-Chair: Bonnie Fedchock, CAE, National Association for Catering & Events

-Chair-Elect: Susan Robertson, CAE, ASAE: The Center for Association Leadership

-Immediate Past Chair: David DuBois, CMP, CAE, CTA, FASAE International Association of Exhibitions & Events

At-large board members elected to a two-year term:

-Martin Sirk, International Congress & Convention Association

At-large board members continuing on the board:

-Vicki Hawarden, CMP, International Association of Venue Managers

-Kimberly Miles, CMP, American Hotel & Lodging Association

-Paul Van Deventer, Meeting Professionals International

CMP Governance Commission Chair:

-Janet Sperstad, CMP, Madison College

CMP Governance Commission Vice Chair:

-Matthew J. DiSalvo, CMP, SER, Exposition Services